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Contractors State License Board Keeps Heat on Phony 
Contractors Trying to Get Work in Lake Tahoe Fire Disaster Area  

Second post-fire undercover operation marks important time for fire victims 
 

SOUTH LAKE TAHOE – The Contractors State License Board (CSLB) and its enforcement 

partners are keeping the heat on phony contractors who try to come into the Angora Fire disaster area 

and victimize homeowners twice. 

Members of CSLB’s Statewide Investigative Fraud Team (SWIFT) led a combination sweep and 

undercover sting operation on Wednesday and Thursday.  The results show that the unlicensed 

operators are not working extensively in the area right now, but they are aggressively trying to get work. 

During Wednesday’s sweep through 34 job sites in the fire area, SWIFT investigators checked 

the license status of 34 different contractors.  Every one of those contractors was properly licensed. 

On Thursday, the CSLB teamed with the California Department of Insurance, El Dorado County 

District Attorney’s Office and El Dorado County Sheriff’s Office to conduct an undercover sting.  SWIFT 

members posed as homeowners whose house was destroyed during the recent fire.  They invited 

suspected unlicensed operators to bid on debris removal and various reconstruction projects. 

Of the seven people who showed up to give bids, six were arrested on felony charges of 

contracting without a license and taken to jail.  One had a loaded handgun hidden in his pickup.  

Another had illegal drugs.  The seventh was given a misdemeanor citation for using an illegal 

advertisement.  Six of the seven people detained were from Nevada, including a contractor who is 

licensed to do work in that state.  He was caught on a job site two lots away from the sting house. 

The operation results emphasize the urgency for fire victims to be extra careful when hiring a 

contractor.  “The unlicensed and unscrupulous contractors know fire victims are now ready to repair or 

rebuild their homes and are willing to risk getting caught,” said CSLB Registrar Steve Sands.  “We’ll 

continue to be aggressive in trying to stop them, but homeowners need to be patient and take steps to 

protect themselves.” 
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Contracting for work in a state or federally declared disaster area that is more than $500 (Labor 

and Materials) without a valid California contractor’s license is a felony.  Punishment may include a fine 

of up to $10,000 and up to three years in state prison, or both. 

Unlicensed operators are part of a multi-million dollar underground economy that takes jobs 

away from legitimate contractors, and tax dollars from schools, roads and law enforcement.  Illegal 

operators rarely, if ever, have workers’ compensation or general liability insurance.  Homeowners have 

little recourse if something goes wrong with an unlicensed operator. 

“We remain vigilant in our fight against scam artists,” said state Insurance Commissioner Steve 

Poizner, “and our partnerships with local law enforcement will continue to protect homeowners from 

being victimized twice.”  

Many times phony contractors, who are skirting the law by not being licensed, have problems 

with the law in other areas.  “It is not unusual to find people with criminal backgrounds trying to sell 

themselves as a contractor,” said Sands.  “Homeowners may think they are saving money by hiring 

someone who is unlicensed.  But you never know what type of individuals you are inviting into your 

home and what their real motives are.” 

The CSLB has had investigators in the fire area since June 26th, meeting victims and conducting 

sweep and sting operations.  CSLB staff has also placed dozens of signs in the fire area, warning 

consumers about unlicensed and unscrupulous contractors who may prey on them, and warning these 

operators that they will face felony charges if they’re caught. 

Homeowners are getting Information on how they can protect themselves by using CSLB’s 

resources to check a contractor’s license status and history, and by following a series of important tips. 

“Avoid the urge to rush into repairs with the first contractor you meet, especially if they just show up 

without an invitation,” said Sands.  “Spend just a few minutes checking the contractor out with CSLB to 

make sure they’re licensed.”  

The CSLB urges consumers to follow these tips, as well:  

• Be especially hesitant when approached by someone offering home 

improvement services door-to-door. 

• Verify the contractor's license by checking online at www.cslb.ca.gov, or via 

CSLB’s automated phone service at 1-800-321-CSLB (2752). 

– more – 

http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
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• Don't pay more than 10% down or $1,000, whichever is less. 

• Don't pay cash, and don't let the payments get ahead of the work. 

• Check references, get three bids and a written contract. 

• Contact the CSLB if you have a complaint against a contractor. 

Learn more by visiting the CSLB’s Disaster Help Center at www.cslb.ca.gov or by calling the 

CSLB Disaster Hotline.  The line is open for disaster victims to call Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm at  

1-800-962-1125. 

FELONY ARREST DETAILS

Name Age City of Residence Charges 

 Donald Walden Rue 54 Fernley, Nevada Business & Professions Code 7028.16 

 Daniel Scott Lilley 34 Stateline, Nevada Business & Professions Code 7028.16 

Theodore Joseph Durrer 62 Dayton, Nevada Business & Professions Code 7028.16 

Marco Charles DiGiacinto 47 Fallon, Nevada Business & Professions Code 7028.16 
Penal Code 12025 & 12031 (Misdemeanors) 

Hector Gonzalez Cruz 65 Reno, Nevada Business & Professions Code 7028.16 

Juan Manuel Lopez Gonzalez 39 South Lake Tahoe, California Business & Professions Code 7028.16 

In the days and weeks ahead, CSLB will continue to partner with local, state and other 

government agencies to conduct enforcement stings and sweeps in and around the disaster area. 

Contractors working on any job – from debris removal to roof repair to rebuilding – totaling $500 

or more for labor and materials must be licensed by the CSLB.  To become licensed, a contractor must 

pass a licensing examination, verify at least four years of journey-level experience and pass a criminal 

background check.  California contractors must carry a license bond, and provide workers’ 

compensation insurance for their employees.  A homeowner could be at risk if workers who aren’t 

covered have an accident while on their property. 

The Contractors State License Board operates under the umbrella of the California Department 

of Consumer Affairs. The CSLB licenses and regulates California's 310,000 contractors, and 

investigates more than 20,000 complaints against contractors annually. In fiscal year 2005-06, the 

CSLB helped consumers get more than $36 million in restitution. 
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